Cone 6 Oxidation: Some Ash from the Past

As I indicated in an earlier post, I gave up ceramics 10 years ago for more earthly concerns and by a twist of fate I found myself taking night classes at the local craft school.  At the time my basic intention was to find someplace outside of french classes to practices and expand my french.  And as anybody who has spent serious time trying to learn a new language knows: a familiar subject / context helps.  So I though what better way to expand my french than take a pottery class?  I knew a thing or to about pottery so I was sure that I would not have that weird out of body sensation of where the hell am I.

There I found myself “confined” to cone 6 oxidation with a stable of school glazes that were, well to be polite, less than edifying.  So I started experimenting with simple 50-50 ash / stock glazes.  The results ranged from oh shit thats not the future to wow that is simply beautiful.  Below is what I think is one such example.  The vase was wheel thrown, altered and brushed with oxides.  To which is a sprayed 50-50 unwashed but 120 mesh strained ash and faux celedon glaze.

vase_ash_glaze

5 thoughts on “Cone 6 Oxidation: Some Ash from the Past

  1. Were you daydreaming while working on this piece, Travis?

    I swear the bottom half looks . . . more interesting than it should . . . .

    !{)>

  2. Oh dear comrade you really do need some art appreciation classes. Or maybe just note that sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.

  3. But just to drive you even more crazy the common convention in describing the parts of a pot are: lip, neck, shoulder, body, foot. So yah it has a very seductive body you could say.

  4. My guess is pretty old. And probably goes back to the description of the first stone vessels. Parts of the human body being the earliest referents for extra body descriptions of objects. A naturalistic nomenclature. In French it is the same nomenclature: pied, corps, lèvre, etc. Not so odd when you think about it. Measures have this naturalistic origin to 6 feet, douze pouce (12 thumbs).

    I will find out what the Japanese nomenclature is based on.

Leave a Reply

